The National Qualifications Framework
print    
In line with Bahrain 2030 Vision, the Supreme Council for the Development of Education and Training, Chaired by His Highness Sheikh Mohamed Bin Mubarak Al Khalifa the Deputy Prime Minister, took a decision to establish a national qualifications framework and implement it in the Kingdom of Bahrain. The Labor Fund (Tamkeen) funded the NQF project in the Design and Setup Phases with technical assistance provided by the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA).
 
The Design Phase commenced in January 2010 and was completed by November 2011. A Steering Group comprising a wide range of stakeholders was established by Tamkeen to oversee the implementation of the contracted project deliverables and to provide advice both to Tamkeen, as the funding organization, and to the SQA Technical Team. Consultation and communication were considered to be vital to the development of the framework. Stakeholders have been fully engaged in the development of the NQF. Various NQF policy working groups have been established comprising representatives from public and private education and training institutions in Bahrain. The main objectives of the policy working groups have been to consult stakeholders in the early formulation of the policies developed.
 
Endorsement of the Design Phase was sought from two international organizations, namely: the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework Partnership (SCQFP) and the National Qualifications Authority Ireland (NQAI), each responsible for the governance and management of their respective national frameworks. Endorsement was provided through official letters to the Steering Group and subsequently through signed Memoranda of Understanding from both organizations. At the end of phase one, results comprised an NQF Architecture, NQF level descriptors and a series of NQF Policies.
 
In 2012, the responsibility of administrating and maintaining (including finalizing the development at late stages of the Setup Phase) the NQF has been handed over to BQA by Royal Decree (83, 2012) under article 3. The second phase, Setup Phase, commenced in March 2012 to continue and build up on the Design Phase of the NQF. Within its operations, the BQA has always been committed to partnership approach, thus continued involving stakeholders in the Setup Phase. One of the main activities in the Setup Phase is the pilot where 17 institutions participated in testing and using the NQF processes, procedures, operations and documents. Six working groups were established during this phase to provide input from private and public institutions, employers and government bodies. In addition, the NQF Technical Committee was established early in 2012 with the purpose of overseeing developments and providing advice to the SQA Project Team and to the BQA. 
 
The BQA sought to have formal representation of the NQF strategic stakeholders, hence the NQF Advisory Committee was formed in 2013 by Prime Minister Decision (52, 2013), involving such representation.
 
NQF Benefits
·         provides a stronger basis for the understanding, comparison and recognition of national and foreign qualifications, thereby improving the understanding of employers, parents and learners of the value of qualifications
·         provides fit-for-purpose qualifications that have stronger linkages with market and learners’ needs
·         increases the accountability of education and training institutions towards maintaining high quality standards in their provision
·         improves the opportunities for mobility and progression of learners within and across higher education, vocational and general education sectors
·         promotes the concept of lifelong learning through the promotion of all types of learning: formal, non-formal and informal.
 
NQF Characteristics
The National Qualifications Framework is an instrument for the classification of qualifications according to a set of criteria for specified levels of learning achieved. It integrates and coordinates national qualifications sub-systems and improves quality, transparency, access and progression.
 
 
 NQFGold-en.JPG


10 levels: each level is described by a set of statements that describe the complexity of acquired learning in terms of knowledge, skills and competencies see Level Descriptors.
Comprehensive: covers higher education, vocational education and training and general education.
Mandatory: for all Education and Training Institutions in the Kigndom of Bahrain
Quality Assured Qualifications in Quality Assured Institutions and meeting required NQF criteria
Vertical and Horizontal progression.

الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات
print     
توافقا مع الرؤية الاقتصادية لمملكة البحرين 2030، فقد اتخذ المجلس الأعلى لتطوير التعليم والتدريب برئاسة سمو الشيخ محمد بن مبارك آل خليفة، نائب رئيس مجلس الوزراء الموقر قرارا بشأن إنشاء وتنفيذ الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات في مملكة البحرين بتمويل من صندوق العمل "تمكين" في مرحلتي التصميم والإعداد، وبالتعاون مع الهيئة الاسكتلندية للمؤهلات.
 
بدأت مرحلة التصميم في شهر يناير 2010، واستكملت في شهر نوفمبر 2011، حيث شكلت "تمكين" مجموعة توجيهية تألفت من مجموعة واسعة من الأطراف ذات العلاقة للإشراف على تنفيذ مستندات التسليم للمشروع المتعاقد عليه، وتقديم المشورة لكل من "تمكين"، وإلى الفريق الفني للهيئة الاسكتلندية للمؤهلات. كما كان مبدأ الشراكة عنصرًا مهمًّا في مرحلة تطوير الإطار، وقد شاركت الأطراف ذات العلاقة في تصميم الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات. وإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد تم تشكيل العديد من مجموعات العمل – ممثلة من الجهات ذات العلاقة -لوضع سياسات الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات، ويمثل الغرض الرئيس لمجموعات العمل هذه في إشراك الأطراف ذات العلاقة في المراحل الأولى من وضع سياسات وتصميم الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات.
 
كما حصل الإطار على الاعتراف بمرحلة التصميم من مؤسستين دوليتين؛ هما: إطار الساعات المعتمدة والمؤهلات الاسكتلندي، وهيئة المؤهلات الوطنية الايرلندية؛ ومسئولية كل منهما حوكمة وإدارة إطارها الوطني، وتم هذا الاعتراف من خلال خطابات رسمية أُرسلت إلى المجموعة التوجيهية ، ومن ثم التوقيع على مذكرات التفاهم مع هاتين المؤسستين. وفي نهاية المرحلة الأولى، شكلت هذه النتائج هيكل الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات، والمحددات الوصفية لمستويات الإطار ومجموعة سياسات الإطار. 
 
وفي عام 2012، انتقلت مسئولية إدارة الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات (بما فيها إنهاء تطوير الخطوات الأخيرة من مرحلة الإعداد) إلى الهيئة بموجب المادة رقم: (3) من المرسوم الملكي رقم: (83) لسنة 2012.
 
استكمالا لما تم تحقيقه في مرحلة التصميم، بدأت المرحلة الثانية، وهي مرحلة الإعداد، في شهر مارس 2012. والتزمت الهيئة ضمن المهام المنوطة بها، بتطبيق مبدأ الشراكة، من خلال إشراك الأطراف ذات العلاقة في مرحلة الإعداد. ولقد كان التطبيق التجريبي للإطار من أهم أنشطة مرحلة الإعداد، حيث شاركت 17 مؤسسة تعليمية وتدريبية في تجربة واستخدام عمليات، وإجراءات ومستندات الإطار. كما تم تشكيل ست مجموعات عمل خلال هذه المرحلة لتقديم إسهاماتها من المؤسسات التعليمية والتدريبية الحكومية والخاصة؛ بالإضافة إلى أرباب الأعمال والمؤسسات الحكومية. فضلا عن ذلك، فقد تم تشكيل اللجنة الفنية للإطار الوطني للمؤهلات في مطلع عام 2012، لغرض الإشراف على مراحل التطوير وتقديم المشورة إلى فريق الهيئة الاسكتلندية للمؤهلات، وإلى هيئة جودة التعليم والتدريب بخصوص هذا المشروع.
 
ومن منطلق مبدأ الشراكة الذي تبنته الإدارة، تم تشكيل اللجنة الاستشارية للإطار الوطني للمؤهلات في عام 2013، بموجب قرار رئيس مجلس الوزراء الموقر رقم: (52) لسنة 2013 .
 
فوائد الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات
·         يوفّر أساسًا قويًّا لفهم المؤهلات الوطنية والأجنبية ومقارنتها والاعتراف بها، والذي بدوره يعزز فهم أرباب الأعمال والمتعلمين وأولياء الأمور لقيمة المؤهلات التي تقدّمها المؤسسات المختلفة
·           يسهم في توفير مؤهلات ملائمة للغرض، بحيث ترتبط بشكلٍ قوي باحتياجات المتعلّم ومتطلبات سوق العمل
·         يزيد الشعور بالمسئولية لدى المؤسسات التعليمية والتدريبية تجاه الحفاظ على معايير عالية الجودة فيما تقدم
·         يزيد فرص المتعلمين في التنقّل والتقدّم ضمن وعبر قطاعات التعليم والتدريب الأكاديمية والمهنيّة المختلفة
·         يعزّز مفهوم التعلّم مدى الحياة، من خلال الترويج لجميع أنماط التعلّم: التعلّم الرسمي وغير الرسمي وغير النظامي.
خصائص الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات:
 يعد الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات منظومة شاملة لتصنيف المؤهلات وفقًا لمجموعة من المعايير على مستويات الإطار بحسب مخرجات التعلم. ويدمج الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات وينسق الأنظمة الفرعية للمؤهلات الوطنية، ويحسن الجودة، والشفافية، والقبول، والتقدم بين مسارات المؤهلات.
 
 
 

 NQFGold-ar.JPG


المستويات العشرة: يوصف كل مستوى بمجموعة من البيانات التي تصف مدى صعوبة عملية التعلم المكتسبة فيما يتعلق بالمعارف، والمهارات والكفايات، راجع المحددات الوصفية للمستويات.
شامل: يغطي مؤهلات التعليم العالي، والتعليم والتدريب المهني والتعليم العام.
إلزامي: لكل المؤسسات التعليمية والتدريبية في مملكة البحرين
مؤهلات ذات جودة ممنوحة من قبل مؤسسات ذات جودة، مستوفية لمعايير الإطار الوطني للمؤهلات.
مستويات تقدم رأسية وأفقية.